top of page

How do I get my dog to stop jumping ?


Dogs jump on people because they are excited, and want attention. Removing the attention removes the reward for jumping. Remember, even negative attention, like kneeing them when they jump, is attention. So if the dog jumps, it’s best to ignore them in that moment and then devise a training plan to implement at a future time.


Here are some training ideas:

1) Train them not to jump by saying “No Jump”. To be honest, I haven’t used this myself so I can’t give you any advise on HOW to train this. I find it hard to train a “Not” behavior, because an absence of behavior is hard to train AND because-

2) I like to train a behavior I do like. In this case, I would train a behavior that would make it hard for the dog to jump, like “sit”. I train a default sit, so my dog sits whenever they want something. This gives me the added benefit of having a communication tool – they sit whenever they want something, then I figure out what it is they want, and give it to them (within reason).

3) How about using a management technique? This is a stop gap measure until training is complete, or in those instances when your dog is just so excited, they have lost their mind and can’t think (like when you come home). I like to have some kibble left over from their breakfast, and just throw a handful on the ground while I walk into the house. When you do come home, it’s important for you to keep your energy level low, or your dog will feed off your excitement as well.


How do I get my dog to stop jumping on my kids?

There’s a really nice pattern game I teach in class called “Be a Tree” where essentially, the kid stops running around to mimic being a tree, and the dog reads the body language and realizes the door is closed for attention. Jumping is no longer fun. Parents should train the dog in this pattern before the kids use this so the dog becomes adept at “reading the room” and won’t jump on the kids.


How do I get my dog to stop jumping on people when we’re out for a walk?

Again, There’s a different pattern game I teach in class that teaches the dog to sit while a friendly stranger approaches for petting. Remember, not every dog likes a bunch of strangers coming up and petting them, so this pattern game should be taught, and then used for those few occasions when a true stranger is allowed to pet your dog.


How do I get my dog to stop jumping on visiting guests?

Generally speaking, I put my dogs away when people come over. They can hear, see, smell my visitors, but not interact directly. And I ask my guests not to interact with my dogs until the time is right. After I see my dogs (and guests) have settled in nicely, I may allow my dogs, one at a time, to come in and meet my guests. All guests get the standard inspection, and all dogs must remain on Best Dog Behavior or they get put back away. There are times when dogs don’t get to visit with my guests -If my guests are visiting for just a short while, or there are many guests or there are uncontrolled children or if I have a guest who would like not to meet my big dogs, etc.


How do I get my dog to stop jumping when I’m training them?

Be careful how you hold your treats – If you hold them high or near the dog’s head, the dog will jump up to get them. Your are actually training your dog to jump in this scenario.


Let me know how these tips work for you.

52 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page